Reichsarbeitsdienst blanket (?)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Reichsarbeitsdienst blanket (?)

I have recently purchased this blanket from a German seller. To me, the wool and construction look like that of a wartime barracks blanket, and not like that of a post-war civilian blanket, though I am no expert in postwar European blankets either. The blanket is marked "RAD" in large letters that are visible on both sides of the wool. The blanket also has a woven tag sewn on that indicates that the blanket was treated with Eulan, a moth prevention chemical made by Bayer that I believe was not used until the 1950s. Eulan could be applied to fabrics when they were made, or to completed items afterwards. Has anyone ever seen an original Reichsarbeitsdienst blanket, with or without these RAD markings? Or has anyone ever seen a period photograph of a RAD blanket? I wonder if it is possible to determine if this blanket is an original blanket that has been "Eulanisiert" in the 50s and has a tag added at this time? Or if the blanket itself dates from the postwar period? Perhaps the RAD marking is not for the Reichsarbeitsdienst at all? I would appreciate any thoughts or opinions on the vintage of this blanket.
    Attached Files

I know that most people in Germany have no middle names, but could these letters perhaps be someone's initials and not a RAD property mark?
    Attached Files

Comment

The thin, coarse wool makes me think this might be an original pre-1945 blanket with a tag added years later when the moth prevention chemical might have been applied, perhaps for use in air raid shelters or some civil defense purpose? Perhaps because of materials shortages 1950s blankets were not very thick either?
      Attached Files

Comment

Here is the tag which almost certainly is post war. It is sewn on a bit crooked.
        Attached Files

Comment