Water-protection police cap

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Water-protection police cap

Gentelmen, may this be a cap for a water-protection policeman?

If it isn´t, please don´t laugh, I don´t collect these sort of things and I thought it could be, because of the anchor on the band.

Or is it a fantasy-piece and put together?

Thank you for your help!

Ostmaerker
    Attached Files

I don't know about the anchor (never seen that on any WSP item though), but the WSP (Wasserschutzpolizei) color was a medium yellow, not the orange(ish) color I see on my screen.

Is the color of the piping that shade throughout, or does it vary from spot to spot?

I'm a rookie myself, but I think someone put a Polizei emblem (could have been painted gold at any time) on this hat after the fact.

Wait for more opinions, but I'm thinking hump job.

Comment

No....this is not WSP. WSP caps were never piped. They were basically navy caps with a fiber brim rather than navy leather although full on navy caps were used.

The cap you show at first looks like some sort of fire cap, but the method of applying the lower piping is wrong. I suspect the WSP eagle has been collector added.

Regards,
      W. Unland

Comment

Agreed, not WSP, see below linked thread for some pics of WSP caps.

Is the piping orange? Postal pops in my mind but I'm not certain.

http://www.wehrmacht-awards.com/foru...d.php?t=278681
        Interested in the Gendarmerie - Schutzpolizei - Gemeinden - Feuerschutzpolizei - Wasserschutzpolizei - Etc. Looking For Anything Polizei Related!

Comment

I agree, definitely not WSP.
          Interesting that it has Russia braid as piping for the bottom ring.

It could be Postal Inspektion--they used a salmon-colored piping similar to this one, however, they would not use anchor buttons.

Can you post photos of the interior, as well as pics with the sweatband up?
          NEC SOLI CEDIT

Comment

Isn't this kind of orange the colour of the Gendarmerie?