Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

EK2 Fake - I think

Hello WAF members:
    I am a new member here. I've been collecting EKs for about 12 years. I have 2 known fakes in my collection, one of which was just identified yesterday with help from board members as a Latvian Schinkel.
    This is another one that I am unsure about.
    For years I discounted it as a fake, and I am still inclined to think it is. It's light and of rather poor workmanship.
    If it's real, it's clearly a Schinkelform B-type. I believe there were some EK2 B-types without round 3's. One is shown in Forman's Guide, 2nd Edition, p.32 #18a. An EK1 without round 3 is shown in G. Williamson's "Iron Cross of 1939" on p.125.

Any thoughts or ideas will be most welcome.

The swastika is sort of rounded and indistinct, the date is low-ish and the "3" dips ever-so-slightly.

It is of proper 3-piece construction and the core is magnetic. The ribbon ring is open (unsoldered) and unmarked. The ribbon passes UV light-test (not that that means anything)

Here it is in between a Schinkel A-type and a standard late-war 1939 EK2, both from my collection.

Anyway, I also just wanted to introduce myself and this thread seemed as good a way as any. Please let me know what you all think of this cross. I'm looking forward to sharing some of the little gems from my EK collection with you all here, and learning from you all.

By the way, any of you with an interest in Imperial EKs, please stop by the other thread I've posted and offer your opinion of the cross there, too:
    http://www.wehrmacht-awards.com/foru...d.php?t=346739

Thank you,
    Trevor
    Best regards,
    Streptile

Looking for ROUND BUTTON 1939 EK1 Spange cases (LDO or PKZ)

It's a post war production by Souval. Normally they have an own core design, but your version has the original Souval war-made core design.
    The common core version is a two piece construction. I believe your war-version could be a one piece construction.