wehrmacht awards

Go Back   Wehrmacht-Awards.com Militaria Forums > Wehrmacht Uniforms and Equipment > Optics Forum

Optics Forum Rangefinders, binoculars, sniper scopes, cameras and their accessories

10x50 Binocs
Old 10-05-2011, 07:57 PM   #1
Vix Steel
Association Member

Default 10x50 Binocs

Hi guys.
I have a lead on these binocs and just wanted to make sure theyre ww2 period. If someone could please check the serial #? maybe its more obvious than that but Im no expert in optics.

The carry strap for the case is gone and the binocs have a broken post where the strap would be looped. Since these are somewhat rough anyone care to offer their opinion of value for me?

Thanx!

Hensoldt 10x50 Dialyt #35056
Old 10-05-2011, 11:58 PM   #2
Stew
Association Member

Default Hensoldt 10x50 Dialyt #35056

the serial number is very low (5 digits) .Most recorded examples in collector records are not in the Dialyt series but in the Dienstglas 6 digit series. By the end of the war the bmj Dienstglas series of 10x50 roof prism were up to # 600,000 I don't understand the relationship between Hensoldt ( roof prism) Dialyt (the Hensoldt commercial name) and Hensoldt/bmj (roof prism) Dienstglas (the Hensoldt military contract name) because they can both appear in military spec (individual eye focus ) Often the Dialyt can appear with a civilian spec (with centre focus). I am not sure that you can relate this specific Hensoldt Dialyt 10x50 to a year of production . I am guessing here but based on production features this set of binoculars was made before 1941 (when Hensoldt changed to the 3 letter bmj code).