wehrmacht awards

Go Back   Wehrmacht-Awards.com Militaria Forums > Ken Jasper International Militaria Forums > Deutsche Demokratische Republik

Deutsche Demokratische Republik All things related to the German Democratic Republic 1949-1989

Ural truck in DDR use
Old 10-26-2010, 07:11 AM   #1
Geo66

Default Ural truck in DDR use

Hello all,
I'm new in this forum, I'm an Italian modeler and I'm fascinated by ex-DDR vehicles.
I am planning to build an Ural 4320 truck in 1/35 scale, I wish to represent a truck in DDR use.
As I discovered until now, the 4320 was used as a transport truck and also as a command post truck mounting the LAKII module. But perhaps someone know other truck configuration used at that time....so I whis to ask if someone can give me information/photos/site links and so on about the this truck.
Moreover, I know that the DDR camouflage was quite simple, it seems ti be a sort of olive green overall. Do someone know if other camo scheme were used by DDR?
Many thanks to all
Ciao
Geo

Old 10-26-2010, 08:33 AM   #2
torstenbel
Forum Sponsor

The URAL 4320 was used everywhere and for all sorts of applications. Lots of photos here http://www.google.de/images?hl=de&q=...og&sa=N&tab=wi Cheers, Torsten.

Old 10-27-2010, 12:34 PM   #3
Geo66

Thank you Torsten,

some of these pics were well know but some others are new to me.
Do someone know if the NVA adopted any camouflage scheme other than the flat green?
Ciao
Geo

Old 10-27-2010, 02:16 PM   #4
iannima

Che bello avere un altro compatriota...
In answer to your question, the NVA, in its last days... -some say the last four weeks - adopted a camouflage scheme other than the normal flat green. To see photographs of an Ural in such a scheme, you should buy this book:
http://cgi.ebay.de/Suhr-NVA-Fahrzeug...item4cf2a20be1
where an Ural has been restored in that scheme. There are other vehicles in the normal green in the same book.