wehrmacht awards

Go Back   Wehrmacht-Awards.com Militaria Forums > Wehrmacht Uniforms and Equipment > Daggers and Edged Weapons Forum

Daggers and Edged Weapons Forum This is the corner of the site where you can talk about daggers, bayonets, swords and knifes of the Wehrmacht and related organizations.

K98k Bayonet - Novice looking for tips
Old 09-24-2004, 02:40 PM   #1
P08

Default K98k Bayonet - Novice looking for tips

Hello. Since I'm planning on getting a K98k rifle I'm looking for a bayonet as well. There's a millitaria rally coming up next month where there will be loads of bayonets on offer. I have no experience with edged weapons of WWII so I'm hoping to pick up some buying tips here

I know that K98 bayonets and scabbards are serialed and supposed to match. I also know that not all had bakelite grips, but assume that the wooden grips are rare?

What would you experts recommend me to look for when buying first time?

Makers marks? WaA marks? Other marks? Are the maker/WaA marks usually located in the same place or were they stamped in random locations?

Any hints are welcome

Old 09-24-2004, 04:38 PM   #2
Colorado
Association Member

Buy on condition first. Rebluing, sharpening, blood or other problems kill value.

There are fake K98 bayonets, but not too many and most are the more rare models.

Get one that is in the same date range as the rifle you intend to buy.

Different makers had WaAmt marks in different places, but all are marked somewhere on the bayonet.

If you are looking for a quality investment, always get one with matching numbers.

Yes, wood grips are much less common, and 3 letter code (1941-45 dated) command better prices (in general) that maker marked ones.

Good luck.

Old 09-24-2004, 04:52 PM   #3
kmh

Hi

Allow me giving you some hints.

First thing to recognize is.
If you would like to match a rifle and a bayonet together you must know the year of manufacturing for either the bayo or the rifle.

Secondly.