wehrmacht awards

Go Back   Wehrmacht-Awards.com Militaria Forums > Ken Jasper International Militaria Forums > U.S. Militaria Forum

U.S. Militaria Forum Militaria of the United States of America.

Research 101
Old 10-29-2004, 05:43 AM   #1
Luftm40
Association Member

Default Research 101

I've been collecting militaria for about 30 years. Mainly German, but also some US. I've recently begun picking up nicer, named US uniform sets. Mainly because I have found that the internet has opened up a treasure trove of research options that just never existed in the old days, and I get a real kick out of putting a service record w/ a faded name in a jacket. Also, US items are still comparatively inexpensive and can be found "out of the woodwork" here in the US w/ relative ease. I think it would be neat for some of our more experienced US collectors to give a run down on how to research, say, a name and ser# in a uniform. Perhaps including links to websites, mailing addresses, advice etc. This thread could then be pinned at the top of the US forum. Personally, I have found that once I get the guy's basic data, I'm off to the races. What I have done the last few times is go to the man's state veteran organizations to get more detailed info. I'm at a loss however when it comes to taking the first step. I think the info is buried in the NARA website someplace, but theirs in not a user friendly format! I'll start by listing some websites that I have found helpful...

A ton of different links and addresses
http://members.aol.com/dadswar/index.htm#frststep

US Social Security Death Index (SSDI). This will tell you when someone died, and most importantly WHERE they died so you can pursue state level research. I have found that the guys who lived in small towns are the easiest to get info on.
http://www.ancestry.com/search/recty.../ssdi/main.htm

Old 10-29-2004, 10:49 AM   #2
Ben

Hi Andy,